Jon Savage's 1972-1976 - All Our Times Have Come (CD)

Diverse Artister

349,00 34900
Klikk og hent i butikk Betal når du henter varen.
Laster inn
Ubekreftet leveringstid Ikke på lager hos leverandør.
Frakt fra 49,- Gratis frakt på alle ordrer over 1000,-
A guided tour through five years of rock in its many variants: power pop, pub rock, glam, krautrock, punk etc – reflecting the fertility of the time. A 44-track double CD with 28-page booklet.

Continuing Jon Savage’s critically acclaimed series of compilations for Ace, which began in 1966 to soundtrack his Faber book of the same name/year, Jon’s musical journey is now firmly entrenched in the 1970s and all the rock variants you can shake a stick at. This double CD covers five full years of rocking out, watching our beloved, familiar rock’n’roll morph its way into power pop, glam rock, pub rock, krautrock and punk rock. Even the hippies were finding their teeth and plugging in their guitars. Many of the chart acts had, in one form or another, been around since the mid-60s and they adapted their core aesthetic for the new era, and with this volume, we find the young punk-to-be Jon settling into his tribe and his stride.

In his ongoing quest to define the era these compilations cover, Jon does not follow the accredited pre-punk timelines but aims to reflect the fertility of the years between 1972 and 1976. It moves from Californian decadence (Little Feat, the re-formed Byrds) through quirky Brit rock (the Move), through the Flamin’ Groovies, Iggy & the Stooges, into one major trend of the times, power pop – aka what would the Beatles sound like if they were still going?

And speaking of whom, in a very rare coup, Apple have allowed John Lennon and Yoko Ono to feature on a compilation and are nestled here with pride. We pass through one-offs like Andy Pratt’s astonishing, pro-feminist ‘Avenging Annie’ into glam’s long tail (Roxy Music, Sparks, Eno and Suzi Quatro) and then street rock outliers like the Hammersmith Gorillas and the role our very own Rock On played in the story.

1975 is when reality hits, with the stripped viciousness of Dr. Feelgood and Murray Head’s regretful address to a derelict and destroyed country. The Count Bishops and the Hot Rods speed up pub rock, while the Ramones crash in to take the prize. Nick Lowe reminds us that there was life before punk and Pere Ubu point to post-punk before it’s hardly started. As always, to be continued…
Utgitt 2021 Format CD
Sjanger World Music, Rock Antall disker 1
Antall spor 44 Artist Diverse Artister, Diverse Rock
Bestillingsnummer CDTOP21594
Disk 1
  1. Easy To Slip - Little Feat
  2. Do Ya - The Move
  3. End Unkind - Grin
  4. School's Out - Alice Cooper
  5. I Hardly Know Her Name - The Wackers
  6. So Far - Faust
  7. Slow Death - Flamin' Groovies
  8. One Of The Boys - Mott The Hoople
  9. When My Baby's Beside Me - Big Star
  10. She Means A Lot To Me - Smyle
  11. Wishing Well - Free
  12. Full Circle - The Byrds
  13. Blockbuster! - The Sweet
  14. Vicious - Lou Reed
  15. Avenging Annie - Andy Pratt
  16. Yang Yang - Yoko Ono / Plastic Ono Band
  17. Editions Of You - Roxy Music
  18. Search And Destroy - Iggy & The Stooges
  19. 48 Crash - Suzi Quatro
  20. Trash - New York Dolls
  21. Andy Warhol - Dana Gillespie
  22. #9 Dream - John Lennon
Disk 2
  1. Girl From Germany - Sparks
  2. You Really Got Me - The Hammersmith Gorillas
  3. The Man Who Couldn't Afford To Orgy - John Cale
  4. Hey Joe (Version) - Patti Smith
  5. Third Uncle - Eno
  6. Kings Of Speed - Hawkwind
  7. I Don't Mind - Dr. Feelgood
  8. After Eight - Neu
  9. Red Temple Prayer (Two Headed Dog) - R. Ericson & Bleibalien
  10. Roadrunner - Jonathan Richman
  11. Say It Ain't So Joe - Murray Head
  12. Radioactivity - Kraftwerk
  13. Final Solution - Pere Ubu
  14. Blitzkreig Bop - Ramones
  15. Max's Kansas City '76 Pt 1 - Wayne County & The Backstreet B
  16. Cherry Bomb - The Runaways
  17. X Offender - Blondie
  18. Horseplay (Weary Of The Schmaltz) - Eddie & The Hot Rods
  19. Keys To Your Heart - The 101'ers
  20. (Don't Fear) The Reaper - Blue Oyster Cult
  21. Heart Of The City - Nick Lowe
  22. Train, Train - The Count Bishops