The Band - 50th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition (2CD + Blu-Ray + 2LP + 7" VINYL + Photo Booklet)

The Band

1 199,00 1 19900 Veil. pris 1 349,00
Klikk og hent i butikk Betal når du henter varen.
Bestillingsvare Sendes vanligvis innen 2-5 dager
Gratis frakt! Du får fri levering på hele ordren.
  • 5.1 surround and hi-res stereo mix of album (by Bob Clearmountain) + new bonus tracks + previously unreleased Woodstock (1969) performance
  • CD of new stereo mix album + new bonus tracks
  • CD of the Woodstock performance + existing bonus tracks from 2000 reissue
  • Blu-Ray containing ‘Classic Albums – The Band’ (Documentary)
  • 2LP of main album new stereo mix (180gram, 45rpm)
  • 7” reproduction of original “Rag Mama Rag” Capitol single
  • Photo booklet with new essay by Anthony DeCurtis

Released on the 22nd September, 1969, the eponymous second studio effort by The Band is a concept album, with the songs focusing on people, places and traditions associated with an older version of Americana. It was recorded in the pool house of a home rented by the group in the Hollywood Hills which was once owned by Judy Garland, Wally Cox and, at the time the group worked there, Sammy Davis, Jr. According to Robbie Robertson, the location was chosen to give the songs a Basement Tapes–like feel in what was termed “a clubhouse concept.”

The album includes many of The Band’s best-known and critically acclaimed songs, including “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down,” which Rolling Stone named the 249th greatest song of all time. The magazine also ranked the album number 45 in their list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. Time magazine included it in their unranked 2006 list of the 100 greatest albums.

Robert Christgau, who spent 37 years as the chief music critic and senior editor for The Village Voice, declared it better than Abbey Road, which had been released four days following, writing that The Band’s LP is an “A-plus record if I’ve ever rated one.”

The album is preserved in the National Recording Registry and is also included in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.


Utgitt 2019 Format 2CD + Blu-Ray + 2LP + 7" VINYL + Photo Booklet
Sjanger Rock Antall disker 1
Artist The Band Bestillingsnummer 0602577842832